Academic Admission Officers

Chetty Vanessa


Phone: 031 260 8833

Hlongwa Nokuthula


Phone: 031 260 7560 

Teaching Administration

Mrs Pam Singh


Tel: 0312608977


Clinical Administration

Mrs Predeshni Govender


Tel: 0312608966

About Us

The Department of Physiotherapy of the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) is the only training institution for Physiotherapists and Physiotherapy Technicians in the province of KwaZulu-Natal. The vision, mission and goals of the department are in keeping with those of the University and aims to provide the best training for a diverse population of students that enrol for the program. Due to the limited places for students to practice in clinical sites at the various hospitals in the province the department is restricted to enrolling no more than 50 students at the first year level. Students are selected based on their academic score in grade 12. The department also ensures that the selection of students also addresses the transformation goals of the University. The B Physiotherapy degree spans over four years with student in the first year of study required to register with the Health Professions Council of South Africa as student physiotherapists.

The academic and clinical staff are recruited based on their academic and clinical competency and staff mentoring and support from senior staff are offered for new staff members. Where possible the university offers further mentoring and support for staff to ensure professional growth and development. During the recruitment and selection of staff equity considerations are implemented to ensure that there are members of staff that fit the diverse student population.

The programme of physiotherapy is integrated with the first and second year having a large basic science and practical component and the third and fourth year mainly clinical sciences and clinical practice. In order to qualify with the B. Physiotherapy degree students must have completed 1000 clinical hours. There is also a compulsory year of community service before a candidate is registered with the Health Professions Council as a Physiotherapist.

Physiotherapy is part of the wider College of Health Science that offers postgraduate masters by course work or thesis and a doctoral program by thesis which are governed by the College of Health Science’s postgraduate policies and procedures.

A physiotherapist assesses, treats and manages a wide variety of injuries including ailments from the fields of orthopaedics, neurology, respiratory and thoracic, cardio-vascular, obstetrics, sports medicine, paediatrics, geriatrics, intensive care units and general rehabilitation.


Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved